Confession: I’ve fallen off the wagon

Wagons West

photo credit: Echo9er

…the diet one, not the alcohol one.

So many wagons!

Anyway, I haven’t posted about my weight loss efforts in a while, and there’s a reason for that.

So let me explain.  Other Half and I have been off work all this week.  It has been a lovely opportunity to reconnect with each other, touch base with household chores and…ummm… stuff our faces.  Unfortunately, O.H has the constitution of a beanpole and can happily munch on maltesers every waking minute of the day.

I, alas, am not so lucky.

Yesterday had been going well.  I was attempting a ‘semi-fast’ day, à la the 5:2 diet.  I’d had some avacado, Greek yoghurt, houmous and veggies.

Then, last night, I got a virus on my computer.  It was one of those vicious ones, where a message locks down your screen saying something like: ‘the police are watching you, pay a hundred pound fine’ yada yada.  After some frantic thumbing through the manual, I managed to restore my computer and remove the virus.

All’s well that ends well, right?

The thing is, I am very sensitive to anything I consider to be hostile or confrontational.  Even though, rationally, I *know* these virus makers are not attacking me personally – that they are just hoping to find some mug who will cough up – I couldn’t help feeling shaken up.  I found it difficult to comprehend that I live on the same planet as people who make viruses for fun.

So what did I do?

Erm, yeah.

At 10pm last night, I legged it to the shop and bought:

– 2 x chocolate/cream eclairs

– a packet of cola bottles

– 2 x microwaveable pizzas

And I ate THE LOT.

*Feeling the shame*

Anyway.  Today is a brand new day.  I ignored my smirking scales this morning, daring me to come over and survey the damage; I’m now sitting with a cup of hot coffee, listening to McAfee whirring away in the background (yeah, thanks McAfee, really did a good job there didn’t you?) Today will be better.

On the plus side, my running has been going well.  The day before yesterday I did an 11k-er and today I’m hoping to do something similar.  I’ll keep you posted!

28 thoughts on “Confession: I’ve fallen off the wagon

  1. You are loved whether you are on the wagon or off it! Your efforts will reward you. We all struggle with our personal wagons. This is Passover; a time to struggle with the question of our slavery. I, too, am a slave to food. I am a slave to my O.H.’s drink. I am with you in your struggle to be free. You are not alone.

  2. I wouldn’t worry – it’s not an ‘every calorie you eat gets burned or turned to fat’ kind of deal. One off noshes don’t make any appreciable difference to your weight loss as long as they’re occasional. It’s your long term diet/activity levels that make a difference. People often get themselves stressed out over slight lapses in a diet, to the point where they think “oh I can’t do this any more” and give up, which does defeat the object a bit.

  3. I quit smoking 5 months ago; every time I feel threatened, though, I find a way to find a cigarette. It’s maddening, isn’t it? I blame the “threateners”. 😉

    Kudos on running the 11k…that’s almost 7 miles, isn’t it?

    Rock on!
    Little Bird’s Dad

  4. We’ve all been there one time or another. The trick is to do just what you’re doing…move on and don’t let it stop you from eating healthy and exercising the next day!

  5. Yes, there is something soothing about chocolate… and all the rest of course. Keep up the Good Work (alcohol) and go easy on anything else. Fighting a battle on two fronts at the same time gives only half the energy on each front. Glad it was the food front that backed off. I always had to remember where the important battle was, the one I could lose my life too. If you feel frail, ask for help; there are tons of us out here fighting and winning the same battle. Good luck and keep writing. b

  6. Oh gosh, I can really relate to the fear a virus attack causes. I’ve had 2 on my PC at work. Both times our IT bods sorted it out but both times I was terrified (in a blood-draining-from-the-face type way) and reduced to a blubbing, trembling mess when I got home. Which is me saying that I totally don’t blame you for heading for the comfort food!!

    • They really are horrid aren’t they, they’re just sooo malicious and they feel like such a personal attack. The comfort food certainly helped in my case!! 🙂 Thanks for commenting!

  7. You’re trying to do so much at once…it’s admirable but you’ve also got to remember to be kind to yourself or you’ll fall off for good! Great job with the running and the sobriety 🙂

  8. I can’t tell you the number of times I’ve experienced something similar to this. Tonight, for example, I almost completely jumped ship off my 21-day challenge (on day 2) because I was feeling blue about the way a friend has been treating me. I stopped myself after french fry number 2, but still. It was a close one. Props to you for getting back on track today though!

    • There is such a strong link between food and emotion, isn’t there. Sorry to hear you’ve been having problems with your friend – and major respect for giving up after one french fry! I certainly could never do that! 🙂

Leave a comment